OSI model
#OSI model

OSI model

The OSI (Open Systems Interconnection) model is a theoretical framework that describes the different layers involved in transmitting information over a network. It was developed by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) in the late 1970s. The OSI model divides the process of transmitting information into seven separate layers, each with a specific function:

  1. Physical Layer: Deals with the electrical and physical aspects of transmitting data over a network, including cable and connector specifications.
  2. Data Link Layer: Handles the transfer of data between devices on a single network segment, including error detection and correction.
  3. Network Layer: Handles the routing of data between different network segments, including internetwork addressing.
  4. Transport Layer: Ensures reliable delivery of data between applications, including flow control and error checking.
  5. Session Layer: Controls the establishment, management, and termination of connections between applications.
  6. Presentation Layer: Deals with the formatting of data, including encryption and compression.
  7. Application Layer: Provides a user interface and allows applications to communicate with other systems.

The OSI model provides a common reference framework that helps understand the various protocols and technologies involved in networking.

read more

About prasant

Check Also

quantum computing in simple terms

quantum computing in simple terms

Quantum computing is a type of computing that uses quantum mechanics, a branch of physics, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *